“You visit illegal websites” fake email
22 02 2005You have to be very careful when you get something like this fake email plus virus file attached. One of our client and friend got upset/crying because of this. She finally realized its just hoax. Sigh…
Be careful.
Subject: You visit illegal websites
From: Admin@fbi.gov
To: mobile@deafnetwork.com
Subject: You visit illegal websites
Date: Tue, 22 Feb 2005 06:15:23 GMTDear Sir/Madam,
we have logged your IP-address on more than 40 illegal Websites.
Important: Please answer our questions!
The list of questions are attached.Yours faithfully,
M. John Stellford++-++ Federal Bureau of Investigation -FBI-
++-++ 935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Room 2130
++-++ Washington, DC 20535
++-++ (202) 324-3000*-* AntiVirus: Found to be clean
*-* “DEAFNETWORK” Anti-Virus Service
*-* http://www.deafnetwork.comAttachment 1: text-indictment_cit9675.zip (68KB )
To view snaphot of virus delete in Norton AntiVirus program: Click here.
Grant W. Laird, Jr.
http://blog.grantlairdjr.com











this such fake email has been investigated now by FBI according to this news: http://www.usatoday.com/tech/news/computersecurity/wormsviruses/2005-02-23-fbi-virus-warning_x.htm
I got virus from that one. hmph. at least its cleaned within 2 hours.
I am wondering who decided wheter an email site is illegal or not.
Is fake email illegal itself?